Hotel Bristol Salzburg
Room search
Check In
Check out

Hotel Chronicle

The Bristol in Salzburg – a place of history

This Salzburg cultural site has been very specially renovated in such a way that it has managed to retain its absolute exclusivity and luxury standard while at the same time has lost none of the flair that makes this historic place so unique.

The foundation stone of the present Hotel Bristol was laid by Archbishop Paris Lodron in 1619. In the following centuries, the building served as the seat of various noble families. It has been repeatedly extended and remodelled before being given its present form in the late 19th century.
The Bristol in Salzburg – a house with history


In 1892, the city of Salzburg, into whose possession the property was passed in the meantime, opened the first hotel to be equipped with electricity within the city of Mozart, the so-called "Electric Hotel", whereby the electrical system of the hotel also supplied a large part of the right-hand centre of the old quarter.

The term "Hôtel Bristol" dates from the year 1903. The worldwide well-known hotel name "Bristol" goes back to the British city of Bristol, where travellers were first provided with accommodation for a fee.
The Bristol shortly after it opened as the first hotel with electric power in 1893


Around 75 years ago, the hotel came into the possession of the Hübner family, to which it belongs to this day, now managed by the third generation, one of the few private hotels in Salzburg under personal management.



View over the Makartplatz square with the Hotel Bristol on the right The Hotel Bristol in 1955 An image of the Hotel Bristol from days gone by